about us

2021-2022 HVI Board of Directors

Mr. Patrick Nielsen – Chairman of the Board
Mr. Nielsen has 20 years of experience in the residential ventilation industry, serving as Global Technical Products Manager at Broan-NuTone in Hartford, Wisconsin. Broan-NuTone manufactures residential ventilation products including ventilation fans, supply fans, range hoods and H/ERVs and markets to multiple channels in the US and Canada. His responsibilities include codes and standards, healthy and energy efficient building trends as well as identifying future product development opportunities. He serves as Chair of the HVI Codes & Standards Committee.

Mr. Dean Nienhuis – Vice Chair/Treasurer
Dean is a Sales Manager for Greenheck Fan Corporation.  Greenheck is comprised of several brands and an extensive product offering of air movement, control and conditioning equipment, which includes residential exhaust and circulation fans, commercial fans, ceiling radiation dampers, and many additional products. Greenheck equipment is used in all types of multifamily, commercial, and institutional buildings with applications ranging from comfort ventilation to industrial processes. Greenheck’s technical staff are active in many government and industry organizations working to establish safety standards, performance standards and application guidance related to HVAC systems and products. Greenheck’s involvement with these groups is largely focused on development of standards, regulations and programs that result in the safe, energy efficient and proper application of HVAC systems and components. Greenheck is continuously working with these organizations and other industry members to provide constructive, consistent, and substantial insight regarding industry standards and regulations.

Mr. Nick Agopian – Secretary
Nick Agopian is Vice President of Sales and Marketing at RenewAire. With over 35 years of HVAC filtration and energy-recovery experience, he has held high-level positions at several top HVAC corporations, where he expanded his robust industry knowledge and expertise. He was Vice President of Business Development at Circul-Aire, Inc., Vice President of Sales and Marketing at Dectron Internationale and President and General Manager at SEMCO, a Fläkt Woods company. Nick is extremely involved in the engineering and HVAC communities. He’s an active member of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) since 1983, where he sits on numerous technical committees. Nick is involved with the Canadian ISO task group on filtration. He currently serves as the Chair of the HVI Advocacy & Education Committee.

Mr. Russell Pope – Immediate Past Chair
Mr. Pope is the Development Manager for Panasonic Life Solutions, North America. Russell is an active participant in ASHRAE 62.2, ENERGY STAR, Department of Energy Programs, an Codes and Standards development. Russell received the Future of HVI Award in 2014. He serves as Chair of the Certification Committee.

Mr. Armin Hauer – Member-at-Large
Mr. Hauer has been employed by ebm-papst, who globally supplies GreenTech fans to manufacturers of ventilation equipment. Initially at the Mulfingen/Germany headquarters and now residing in Connecticut/US, he has served in engineering, market management, and management of regulation and government affairs. As voting member in technical committees of several organizations he focuses on energy efficiency ratings. Those include ASHRAE where he chairs the fans working group of SSPC 90.1 MSC, ANSI’s TAG to ISO’s Fans TC 117, and IEC’s Joint Advisory Group entitled JAG 22 - Optimized Energy Consumption of Electric Driven Machine Units [e.g. pump, fan, compressor].

Mr. Bertrand Poirier – Member-at-Large
Mr. Poirier is head of innovation & compliance at Systemair Inc. The company has been producing ventilation products for both the residential and commercial markets for over 30 years. Bertrand has been involved with HVI for over 15 years and was honored with the Future of HVI Award in 2016. He serves as Chair of the HVI H/ERV Committee.

Mr. Yan Sun – Member-at-Large
Mr. Sun is a Lead Engineer for Air King which is part of the Lasko Corporate family of brands. Air King primarily manufactures residential ventilation products including ventilation fans and range hoods and Air Circulating Fans. His responsibilities include proposing and managing budgets for projects, planning and executing strategies for completing projects on time, technical support internal and external, and researching and developing new designs and products.

Mr. John Fox – Ex-officio Director
Mr. Fox has served the residential and commercial ventilation industry for almost 35 years. Mr. Fox served as HVI's Chairman of the Board from October 2011 to October 2013. He received the HVI Distinguished Service Award in 2019. He currently serves as the Chair of the HVI Lab Oversight Committee, and Chair of the Risk Assessment Committee. John has served as President of HVI's sister association, the Healthy Air Research and Certification Authority (HARCA), since its inception in November 2015.

HVI Partners

  • AHR Expo
  • IAQA
  • Resnet
  • US Green
  • Zero
By closing this banner, scrolling this page, clicking a link or otherwise continuing to use our site, you acknowledge that you accept our Terms of Use.