about us

2020-2021 HVI Board of Directors

Mr. Russell Pope – Chairman of the Board
Mr. Pope is the Development Manager for Panasonic Life Solutions, North America. Russell is an active participant in ASHRAE 62.2, ENERGY STAR, Department of Energy Programs, an Codes and Standards development. Russell received the Future of HVI Award in 2014. He serves as Chair of the Certification Committee and Chair of the HVI Personnel Committee.

Mr. Terry Siegel – Vice Chair/Treasurer
Mr. Siegel is CEO of Ventamatic, Ltd. located in Mineral Wells, Texas. Ventamatic manufactures a full line of portable ventilation options as well as a range of other residential, commercial and agricultural ventilation products. He serves as Chair of the HVI Finance Committee.

Mr. Patrick Nielsen – Secretary
Mr. Nielsen is Global Technical Products Manager at Broan in Hartford, Wisconsin. Broan primarily manufactures residential ventilation products including ventilation fans, range hoods and H/ERVs. His responsibilities include codes and standards as well as identifying future product development opportunities. He serves as Chair of the HVI Codes & Standards Committee.

Mr. Ola Wettergren – Immediate Past Chair
Mr. Wettergren is employed by the Systemair Group. Systemair, using brand names Fantech and Systemair, produces a variety of energy-efficient products including energy recovery ventilators, inline fans, air distribution products and accessories. Ola previously served as HVI's Chairman of the Board from October 2005 to October 2007 and again from October 2017 to October 2019. He received special recognition from the HVI membership in 2007 for his service and leadership during challenging times. He currently serves as Chair of the HVI HERV US Market Development Committee.

Mr. Nick Agopian – Member-at-Large
Nick Agopian is Vice President of Sales and Marketing at RenewAire. With over 35 years of HVAC filtration and energy-recovery experience, he has held high-level positions at several top HVAC corporations, where he expanded his robust industry knowledge and expertise. He was Vice President of Business Development at Circul-Aire, Inc., Vice President of Sales and Marketing at Dectron Internationale and President and General Manager at SEMCO, a Fläkt Woods company. Nick is extremely involved in the engineering and HVAC communities. He’s an active member of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) since 1983, where he sits on numerous technical committees. Nick is involved with the Canadian ISO task group on filtration. He currently serves as the Chair of the HVI Advocacy & Education Committee.

Mr. Peter Grinbergs – Member-at-Large
Mr. Grinbergs Senior Manager of Quality Control and Manufacturing Processes at Airia Brands, Inc. in London, Ontario. Airia Brands primarily manufactures HRV/ERV products in addition to air handlers, inline fans and air filtration equipment. He serves as Vice Chair of the HVI Lab Oversight Committee.

Mr. Armin Hauer – Member-at-Large
Mr. Hauer has been employed by ebm-papst, who globally supplies GreenTech fans to manufacturers of ventilation equipment. Initially at the Mulfingen/Germany headquarters and now residing in Connecticut/US, he has served in engineering, market management, and management of regulation and government affairs. As voting member in technical committees he focuses on energy efficiency ratings. In ASHRAE he chairs the Motors and Motor Controls TC 1.11 and the fans working group of SSPC 90.1 MSC. Through an ANSI TAG he contributes to ISO’s Fans TC 117.

Mr. Dean Nienhuis – Member-at-Large

Mr. John Fox – Ex-officio Director
Mr. Fox has served the residential and commercial ventilation industry for almost 35 years. Mr. Fox served as HVI's Chairman of the Board from October 2011 to October 2013. He received the HVI Distinguished Service Award in 2019. He currently serves as the Chair of the HVI Lab Oversight Committee, and Chair of the Risk Assessment Committee. John has served as President of HVI's sister association, the Healthy Air Research and Certification Authority (HARCA), since its inception in November 2015.

HVI Partners

  • AHR Expo
  • IAQA
  • Resnet
  • US Green
  • Zero
By closing this banner, scrolling this page, clicking a link or otherwise continuing to use our site, you acknowledge that you accept our Terms of Use.